Five new faces in Ireland squad for Turkey

Martin O’Neill has named five uncapped players in his 30-man Republic of Ireland squad to face Turkey.

Kieran O’Hara, Declan Rice, Enda Stevens, Darragh Lenihan, and Derrick Williams are the newcomers to the international setup, with only one outfield player over 30-years-of-age (Shane Long) named in the panel.

Seamus Coleman also returns after a year out through injury, while Under-21 internationals O’Hara and Rice will return to the U-21 squad for their qualifier with Azerbaijan after the trip to Turkey.

Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Kieran O’Hara (Manchester United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Declan Rice (West Ham United), John Egan (Brentford), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Greg Cunningham (Preston North End), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)
Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), David Meyler (Hull City), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), Liam Kelly (Reading), Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)
Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Sean Maguire (Preston North End)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *